“FITCHEF: 21 days no bread, no sugar challenge” Who am I kidding. 21 days no bread, reduced sugar challenge :)

 

Fitchef has the above challenge currently. 21 days of no bread, no sugar. I have tweaked the challenge a tad bit. So, why bread? Bread is absorbed quickly by the body, causing a spike in blood sugar levels, sugar levels tend to go down just as rapidly, similarly to coke. This results in getting hungry quicker and therefore searching for that treat again, and again and again.  This results in an increase in carbs, more carbs equal more fat, more fat equals an increase in weight. Unless of course, if you are sporting the banting diet. The challenge is said to increase energy, decrease bloating, heart burn, cravings and you will burn fat too. I consume far too many sugars in my diet. I know this is going to be a tough one for me.

IMG_9344.jpg

Traditionally, my breakfast consists of a caramel flavoured tinkie and a cup of coffee. So satisfying! For some reason my first cup of coffee has to contain a spoonful of sugar. However, when I get to work, I do not add sugar to my coffee.  I will then reach for a packet of chips usually fritos or cheese curls, occasionally a packet of jumpin jacks popcorn.

IMG_6937.jpg

I have tried cereals. I hate however, when you add milk to the cereal and it gets soggy. Although a fast eater, I am always left with a soggy cereal towards the end.  I then turned to muesli and yoghurt. I do enjoy this breakfast, but I am not a fan of raisins.

As the day passes, I either consume a fizzer, a little chomp or whatever treat my hubby has packed for me. (yes my hubby packs my lunch bag) And then a meal, which is usually left overs from the previous night. After supper, I then end my day with a mug of hot water and a squeeze of lemon. My recent addiction has been the twinings, cranberry and raspberry tea, so delicious.

IMG_1366.jpg

Nom nom nom.

I am now on day 4 of my no bread, reduced sugar challenge.  I did notice a decrease in my cravings, I don’t eat as many snacks in the day. No chomps, no chips, no fizzers, no cranberry tea. I have been unable however, to curb my love for the caramel flavoured tinkie. I hope tinkies do not fall under the category of bread. If so, I have failed this challenge dismally.

♥ Preshanthi ♥

Leave a Reply

